Wwwebber's Blog

Php Job Script : Free Job Aggregator

Posted in free php scripts by wwwebber on May 24, 2009

One of my clients wanted to me to create a php job script–not a job portal but rather a script that would allow people to search for all of the jobs that you find on indeed.com

So I made up this script . It is largely open source (1 file is encrpyted…to make sure that the footer links remain intact:) )  Otherwise it is highly customizable and is SEO friendly as the entire script employs mod_rewrite.

How can I earn money with Script?
You can register for your own account at indeed.com and use your own ‘publisher id’ to get some cash for each click that a user makes. Also, from personal experience, I have noticed that cpc for Google Ad’s on my job search pages are decent–though would vary by industry.

Where Can I See a Demo? demo of the default install for the USA and for  India

    Some Sites Using the Script

What are the Server Requirements: Read them here.

Where can I download it ? Here

How can I remove the footer?

  • paypal $50  to  send it here  and I will send you an un-encrypted version. From there, you can do whatever you would like including removing the footer. However, you will need to find the relevant lines of code in the JobRoll.class file and remove them.

How can I get the entire script unecrypted?

  • paypal $50  to  send it here
      Note: there is only 1 file that is enctyped (jobroll.class.php). The script’s style is easily manipulated with cascading style sheets. If you want to do some deep customizations then, yes, it might be worth the the money  to get the unenctyped jobroll.class.php –however, please make sure you are very comfortable with PHP before trying trying this.

What Countries are Supported? USA  and India

Download the script at Hot Scripts: Job Search Script

 

Also, one of the benefits of the script is that it creates literally hundreds of SEO friendly web pages based off of every combination of city state and county. You can see an example of the site map (that can be customized by just changing a variable in the script here:

57 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. antonyjeyaprakash said, on June 11, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    hi where can i down load the php job aggregator code. i need urgent. please help me.

    antony jeyaprakash

    • wwwebber said, on June 12, 2009 at 3:46 pm

      Sorry, I didn’t include the link in the original post (I will add it now)

      The full script details are here:
      Job Search Script.

      I’d appreciate a review if you find the script useful.

  2. ashish said, on June 23, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    please can you make any such script for india? if you can that will be great. please try to do it.

    • wwwebber said, on July 3, 2009 at 12:01 pm

      If someone could send me the cities, postal codes (or their equivalents) and counties of India..it wouldn’t take too long …

      • ashish said, on July 3, 2009 at 12:40 pm

        hi, I can send you the list. please tell me where to send it.

  3. Thai said, on August 28, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    How much is your commercial job script with the city search?

  4. wwwebber said, on August 29, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Hmm…adding a custom title is doable. Let me look back at the script. I’ll add that feature.

    Yes, I would be willing to remove the copyright as well as the link for a small donation ($25 or $15 depending on what you want to do) . I just emailed you.

  5. Avi said, on September 7, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Hi, I’m trying to use your script for another country. I tried replacing the cities in “cities.php” and things of the sort, but I get a PHP error. I understand that you’re not offering free support, but can you at least tell me if its possible to make these changes and where I can do them? Thank you kindly for your time and an incredible script.

    Regards.

    • wwwebber said, on September 7, 2009 at 7:15 pm

      It’s possible to add cities and change the data in the cities.php file. However, to add a whole country would involve deeper changes. I will happily add another country to the program if you can supply me with the list of cities and states–the list needs to be formatted in a particular way . In fact, the reason that India was added as a country was because another person supplied me the list of cities/states for India. Once I’ve integrated the cities,states into the program it would be very easy to add other cities-

  6. Osman said, on September 27, 2009 at 7:35 am

    I uploaded the script to Mattsjobs.com and everything works except when I click Next at the bottom of the page to see more listings of the results, it goes to an error page because it is looking for something that doesn’t exit.

    • wwwebber said, on September 27, 2009 at 9:17 am

      I’ve used your hosting company before, 000webhost.com, whose severs have known issues with many mod_rewrite based scripts (including elgg and prestashop) –000webhost’s server settings cause issues with mod_rewrite upon which the script is based–one of the cons of free hosting–I’m afraid.

      Read this thread about how to disable the tracking code that your host uses and that is known to cause page not found errors with mod_rewrite enabled scripts.

  7. Osman said, on September 27, 2009 at 9:53 am

    tHANKS for the fast reply. I knew it had something to do with the .htaccess file and modrewrite because when I try and upload the .htaccess this silly host automatically deletes it. I even tried creating one on the server itself and it deleted it. They prolly do this so that scammers phisher etc don’t get a chance to execute things on the server. I think they are bent towards anti-music/video/scripting and they even said they have their own employees who monitor hosting content which is invasion of privacy if you ask me. I won’t even bother asking them to enable .htaccess because their written english is bad and I suspect they are based somewhere other than english speaking countries. If you have a host that doesn’t have ads and is free that you would recommend then please let me know because I don’t want to pay for hosting until I make income and get tons of traffic. Speaking of income, how much were/are you getting from the Indeed.com Publisher account? I tried opening a google ads account but all I saw was links for advertisers to order ad space from google and can’t find a free way to sign up for google ads so I can place the google ads on my website.

  8. N-Designs said, on November 6, 2009 at 6:04 am

    great job! thanks

  9. Richard said, on November 14, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Hi,

    Could I send a list of cities to use for the script? I would like to talk to you about a couple of idea’s for the script.

    Many thanks

    • wwwebber said, on November 20, 2009 at 11:24 am

      Cities for which country?

  10. ASN5 said, on November 25, 2009 at 6:16 am

    Greetings…

    I was wondering if there is something in the script that feeds data to the AdSense ads. I ask because I changed the config line to

    $defaultJobQuery =’Administrator’ ;

    But my AdSense ads still come up with teacher ads?

    Any tips would be appreciated.

    • wwwebber said, on November 25, 2009 at 10:10 am

      No, there is nothing in the script that has anything to do with Google. Perhaps it’ll just take a little time before Google associates your site with your keywords.

      • ASN5 said, on November 25, 2009 at 2:55 pm

        That was it I guess – it started working. Hey, is there a Paypal link to have the “[ powered by job search aggregator ]” removed from the bottom of the script? Thanks.

      • wwwebber said, on November 26, 2009 at 12:37 pm

        Sure,
        for one domain, just paypal me $15 to wwwebber(aT)themathgames(d0t)c om . I will need to know your domain name as the ‘code’ to remove the links is based of of the domain name (it’s a hash of the domain name). Just shoot me the domain name at the email address.

      • PHP Naive said, on March 30, 2010 at 2:36 am

        Hi there I need indeed.com script for Canada. Also copyright removed etc. Would you be able to help me. Thanks

  11. M.K. Rocha said, on December 3, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Great script. Could you add a link back? Is it possible to have the powered by link open in a new window. Also is it possible to remove the brackets in the powered by link. Appreciate it. Thanks.

    • wwwebber said, on December 3, 2009 at 11:01 pm

      Yes, open in new window and removal of brackets would be easy enough.

      • M. K. Rocha said, on December 3, 2009 at 11:32 pm

        So what do I have to change or which files do I have to reupload? Thanks.

    • wwwebber said, on January 26, 2012 at 10:43 am

      A few years late in replying. Been too busy to work on the job script till now, but I have modified the script to 1) easily allow for the removal of the brackets. All footer links now open in a new window. If you still have any interest in this, let me know I will send you the new version.

  12. Roxanne Jenkins said, on January 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    Hi,

    Thank you so much for this wonderful script, it’s a great addition to my site. I would love for you to add this:
    “If you are using this script on your site, please leave a comment here and I’ll put up a link (dofollow) to your site”

    Just let me know what i need to do.

    Thanks again.

    RJ

    • wwwebber said, on January 10, 2010 at 10:41 pm

      No problem–just shoot me a line with the url : wwwebber(aT)themathgames(d0t)c 0m

  13. jp said, on January 22, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Hi!

    Awesome script. Is it possible to make this grab results from indeed.com.au?

    Is this something a php developer could easily modify themselves or is it more a task for yourself?

    Thanks in advance.

    • wwwebber said, on February 21, 2010 at 11:56 pm

      Yes, it’s be relatively easy for a php developer–I’d be willing to add that functionality to script at some point..however, I would need someone to give me a list of the states,counties, cites or their equivalents…email me if interested in providing this data.

  14. mango said, on March 15, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    I downloaded the script, and tried to set up in locally on window machine, keep getting,
    Fatal error: Class ‘JobRoll’ not found in C:\xampp\htdocs\job-script\library\includes\header.php on line 17
    Please help…
    Thanks

    • wwwebber said, on March 25, 2010 at 8:25 am

      Have you tried ‘including’ other files and have you tried running the script on your host’s server (rather than your local testing server)?
      The script should include the files properly.

      • mango said, on April 9, 2010 at 2:27 pm

        When I open file JobRoll.class.php only see <? eval(gzinflate(base64_decode(some code))); ?, do not see any class declaration heading like class JobRoll {} I tried the test script for server setting, all the setting are good.

        Thanks,

      • wwwebber said, on May 30, 2010 at 8:06 am

        Yes, the jobroll class is encrypted. Nothing else is.

  15. reactorr said, on April 8, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    no Canada eh?
    indeed.com covers it…

    • wwwebber said, on May 5, 2010 at 10:04 am

      sorry not at this time. At some point over the next few months, I hope to release a version that will work with any country (however, not all versions will have the SEO friendly site maps)

  16. bart said, on May 26, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    hi
    good job with this free script.
    I would like to donate some money for such a good job.I was thinking for something like that for Uk.I have no idea where to look for cities and post codes.
    If you ready to change script for me to work within Uk and with top job sites from UK im ready to pay for developing site like that.If more info is needed please contact me on my email

    • wwwebber said, on May 30, 2010 at 8:08 am

      If you can get ahold of the UK data , I will add a UK version to the script this summer (July/August). If interested shoot me an em@il at wwwebber(aT)themathgames(d0t)c 0m . The lists would need to be formatted in a certain way for me to use them.

  17. Gnosis said, on May 30, 2010 at 6:52 am

    hi,

    is there any way we can build additional functionality around this script, with complete customization.

    Regards,
    Gnosis – The Knowledge

  18. ezy said, on June 13, 2010 at 7:14 am

    HI,

    I wish to know the following
    1) For a given job search,if there is 1200 results, I wish to display its like pages of 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 on the first page and 2-11 on second page and so on.
    2)I wish to know whether am I able to edit the header and footer links to something relate to my own style
    30also plz tell me how much amount for the copy right removal

    thanx n regards

    • wwwebber said, on June 16, 2010 at 10:46 am

      Your first idea is good one. I think I will add that functionality to the script. (However, I won’t be working on the script for at least another month.)

      2) Did you try downloading the script? It uses css to stylize the links. Just change the c

  19. Zee said, on June 30, 2010 at 5:33 am

    This is just the thing I was looking for. I want custom scripts for USA, UK and India along with installation on my web servers. How do I get in touch with you for the next steps?

    • wwwebber said, on July 1, 2010 at 11:06 am

      Installation is as easy as uploading the folder to your server–that’s it. Look in the source code to customize…

  20. glen said, on July 26, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    hi if i already have content on a website how do i upload your script. do i create a new folder and transfer the script information in that folder and then upload or what

    • wwwebber said, on July 27, 2010 at 10:40 am

      “do i create a new folder and transfer the script information in that folder and then upload or what”
      –that’s exactly what you do!

  21. glen said, on July 27, 2010 at 10:49 am

    i uploaded the script using another folder and it worked but how ever there is no jobs shown. what am i doing wrong. Nothing is being populated

  22. Ranjan said, on January 13, 2011 at 9:13 am

    i am 19 yr old , a job oriented student . i am very intrested to publish ur job portal.
    plz just give roughly idea abt installation..

  23. Ranjan said, on January 13, 2011 at 9:33 am

    plz make it india version , plz plz

    • wwwebber said, on January 13, 2011 at 9:39 am

      There is one. Please read the post , download the script or simply look at the india demo at the top.

  24. Ranjan said, on January 13, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Dear Dont mind plz , it’s not working in demo also..

    if i putting a state with perticular city in indeed it shows result, but here in demo no result

    as in state Tamilnadu , city Chennai..

    kindly check it out , if it will work , i am intrested to pay also

  25. Carla Easley said, on November 4, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Hello,

    Do you do script installation? If so, how much would you charge. I could really use this job aggregator on my site.

  26. Scott Christianson said, on December 6, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Excellent work on the script, I have been using it on my site greatjob(dot)org for a couple of years now. I would like to know if there is any way I can expand the searches to include India, Canada, and other countries. I have create city and county arrays and have also expanded the arrays to include Canadian Cities and Provences/States in the library directories, but continually no jobs found for Canada.

    Once again Excellent Work. Also, I did not see anywhere I can send you a donation.

    • wwwebber said, on January 26, 2012 at 10:05 am

      You can already use India. See India demo version. If you send me the canada based data (in the proper format), I will add it to the script. I have finally got a little bit of free time to look at the script so..unfortunately, this window won’t last long, but free to send me what you have and maybe we can get a Canada based version up and working.

  27. Gary Meyers said, on January 22, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    Hi, I am creating a video resume website, and I would like to add a job aggregator like this one to my website.

    Here is how I would like to add it, I would like for search box to only appear on the front of my website (and nothing else) and upon entering in the information, it will open up a second window with the results.

    I am willing to pay you a little more for you to script this out and give me some directions. I am not the best webmaster but can follow good directions.

    Thanks in advance,

  28. Gary Meyers said, on January 23, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    Hello, I inquired about a script modification and am willing to pay. I was hoping that I would hear from someone by now if in fact you are able to do this. This is regarding having the search box present on my homepage and upon entering in the information, another window opens up with the results.

    I am writing my website in html and was hoping that you could send me the script to add to my front page.

    Thanks again,

    Also I will pay the $35 as well.

    • wwwebber said, on January 24, 2012 at 10:36 am

      I do not have the time to do any work. If you paypal the money I will send an unencrypted version of the script for you can modify however you want.


Comments are closed.

